The Surgeon that DRIFTs!

Many..many years ago, when I was still a college student in Sibu, I met up with this doctor named Louis through DCM, at that time he was only driving his white Satria, and if I’m not mistaken, he was into FF drifting too!  During our 1st meet, I’ve showed him what a RWD slide feels like, in my trusty Charmant, when it was still stock, and automatic.  We had a little fun on a small area filled with gravels, I even stalled my car while attempting the slides.  On the other hand, Louis also showed me some of his E-brake FF drifts.  I was extremely impressed on the fact that a doctor like him, would be so enthusiastic about drifting as well, cool!

We only had 1 meet up since then, but we kept in touch in DCM, however, as time flies, we sorta lost touch and I’ve continued my studies in KL for the next couple of years.  In 2006, when I came back to Sibu and started working full time, I’ve also started doing a little bit of tuition business.

1 day, just when I arrived at my student’s house, I’ve noticed a Corolla TE72 parked at the side of the road, first things that I’ve noticed are the sport exhaust, and the different front and rear rim combos, I walked up for a closer inspection and noticed a whole stack of tires squeezed within the car!  First impression?  Pretty obvious, this looks so much like a drift car if you ask me… !  However, I’ve decided not to wander around the car for too long as I might look suspicious to others as a car thief or whatsoever, so I proceeded to the house for my tuition class.

As days gone by, finally, I spotted the owner (whom happens to be Louis himself) by coincidence, and guess what was he doing?  Moving more tires into his car… this dude has gotta be on to something here!  I quickly walked towards Louis and the first thing that came out of my mouth was…

“Hey there, this your car?”

“… er.. Yeah…”

“Just curious, are you a drifter?  Are you drifting with this car?”

“Drifting… what?… sorry nop…” (Hehe, trying to act ignorant eh?)

“Oh sorry to bother… coz I really thought you’re a drifter…erm… nvm… thanks again”

The conversation ended and off I went to my tuition class again, surprisingly, both of us didn’t recognize each other during that conversation, fortunately, Louis had a better memory than me and he sent me a PM in DCM and asked if I were the guy that spoke to him earlier during the day, then that finally made me remembered as well!  It’s the Doctor drifter that I’ve met years ago!

We quickly arranged a meet up, after so many years, we met again, but this time, Louis has upgraded from a FF drifter to a proper FR drifter!

TE72 and Charmant

TE72 and Charmant

Apparently, way before I met Louis again, he has been practising drifting alone in his TE72 for quite some time, and I never noticed!  Damn, anyhow, the first thing I did when we met again was to take a very close look on his car, 2nd impression, RUST!  Loads of them, the body needs a heck lot of work to be honest, but who cares when you have TRD spec coilovers, 4AGE 16v and a proper LSD?  And that’s all Louis needed to learn the wonders of DORIFUTO!

For the next couple of months, we have been meeting up regularly on weekends to practise drifting, since I wasn’t able to drift my Charmant back then, instead I was helping out Louis in recording videos, changing tires, giving advices as well sometimes.  Cool thing was that he also lets me drive his TE72, it was definitely a very memorable day as it was my first time ever to have drifted a car with a proper LSD installed, I was dead surprised how EASY it was just to get the tail to slide, continuously!

Unfortunately, a terrible “misunderstanding” between Louis and the local gangsters caused him a wreck on the TE72, for the full story, you can read it HERE.  Since that incident, Louis decided its best to leave Sibu for good, so before he left, he offered me a very good price on the remaining working parts left on his TE72, which surprisingly, 90% of them are still working fine except for the TE72’s body, it was such a generous and awesome offer that I couldn’t refuse, so truth be told, Louis was the one that FULFILLS my drifting dream.  Without him, my Charmant wouldn’t even be at the stage it is right now, so a 120% gratitude to my main man, Dr. Louis!

Louis and his family moved to W.Malaysia, and he has been doing great, he also got himself another 4AGE drifter, a KE70, and he’s been rocking it hard ever since, since there’s lot more legal events and venues in W.Malaysia that he can attend to, his skills has been progressing way faster as compared to the times he spent in Sibu, LOL!

Anyways, to end this post, let me share a few cool pics of him drifting at the recent ‘Saturday Night Drift 16/1/10’:

Louis KE70 Drift

Louis KE70 Drift

Louis KE70 Drift

Way the go, Dr. Louis, keep it up! ^^

4 Responses to “The Surgeon that DRIFTs!”

  1. wow.. just wow.. talking about the down-side of being a drifter. you got people harassing you, feeling like they own the place and literally trying to kick you out of the supposedly public place and yet you didn’t give up and even gets better at drifting. hats off to you Louis! it’s all about staying alive to fight another day, eh?

  2. Dude, I’m not a surgeon yet lah. Still training. I’m not really improving la. Just plan having fun here when i can.

    Edgar, it’s not fighting another day. It’s just having so much fun drifting that you don’t just let it go for reasons like that 😉

  3. Bro, that’s sad man. Damn those low life idiots.

    Been a while since my last visit. Hope all is well. 🙂

  4. Louis, hopefully can see videos of you drifting! 😀

    Edgar, your engine swap progress is looking good, can’t wait till it’s done!

Leave a comment